RSS

WWUH Radio 91.3 FM

Make a secure online donation to WWUH

University of Hartford

When the University of Hartford was incorporated just over 50 years ago by business and community leaders, they envisioned a center of education and culture for Greater Hartford. At its core, it would be a university for the community created by the community.

The University has come a long way since its humble beginnings on Hartford’s last remaining farm, evolving from a local school for commuters into a comprehensive university that attracts students from throughout the world. Yet it remains true to its original mission of serving as a valued resource for individuals, families, businesses, and communities throughout the Hartford region, offering hundreds of programs that serve the University and its neighbors every day. For over 45 years listener supported WWUH has served an important role in the University's community service mission.

Visit WWUH on Facebook    Follow WWUH on Twitter

Events

Friday November 09, 2012
Saturday November 10, 2012
Sunday November 11, 2012
Start: 11/11/2012 13:00
End: 11/11/2012 16:30

 

Host Keith Brown writes:

This Sunday is Armistice Day, the day in 1918 when World War I officially ended. Known as Veterans' Day in the United States, it honors those Americans who fought in all the wars in America's history. I have programmed two requiems for today, by Benjamin Britten and J.C. Bach.

Monday November 12, 2012
Tuesday November 13, 2012
Start: 11/13/2012 12:00
End: 11/13/2012 12:30

 

This week on New World Notes: radio program #245, November 13, from 12:00 to 12:30 p.m., host Kenneth Dowst excerts three talks by Noam Chomsky.

Wednesday November 14, 2012
Thursday November 15, 2012
Friday November 16, 2012
Start: 11/16/2012 19:30
End: 11/16/2012 22:00

United States Air Force Academy Rock Band

BLUE STEEL

Start: 11/16/2012 19:30
End: 11/16/2012 22:00
Saturday November 17, 2012
Sunday November 18, 2012
Monday November 19, 2012
Tuesday November 20, 2012
Start: 11/20/2012 12:00
End: 11/20/2012 12:30

 

This week on New World Notes: radio program #246, November 20, from 12:00 to 12:30 p.m., host Kenneth Dowst replays Part 1 of an interview with health care reformer Dr. Susan Rosenthal, author of Sick and Sicker.

Wednesday November 21, 2012
Thursday November 22, 2012
Friday November 23, 2012
Saturday November 24, 2012
Sunday November 25, 2012
Monday November 26, 2012
Start: 11/26/2012 13:00
End: 11/26/2012 16:00

 

Susan Campbell, author / journalist / blogger, and Steve Mitchell, Minister of Arts & Music at The Asylum Hill Congregational Church, will visit Watch This Space on Monday November 26 around 3 p.m. to talk about the 3rd Annual Community Sing-Along at The Charter Oak Cultural Center on Thursday November 29.

Tuesday November 27, 2012
Start: 11/27/2012 00:00
End: 11/27/2012 12:30

 

This week on New World Notes: radio program #247, November 27, from 12:00 to 12:30 p.m., host Kenneth Dowst replays Part 2 of an interview with health care reformer Dr. Susan Rosenthal, author of Sick and Sicker.

Start: 11/27/2012 09:00
End: 11/27/2012 12:00

 

November 27, 2012 marks the 70th birth anniversary of Jimi Hendrix, acknowledged as one of the most influencial electric guitarists in history. Chuck Obuchowski will offer a jazz tribute to Hendrix's music during Out Here & Beyond, Tuesday Morning Jazz on WWUH between 9 a.m. and noon.

Wednesday November 28, 2012
Thursday November 29, 2012
Friday November 30, 2012
Saturday December 01, 2012
Sunday December 02, 2012
Start: 12/02/2012 13:00
End: 12/02/2012 16:30

 

Host Keith Brown writes:

Over more than a quarter century of lyric theater broadcasting I have always delighted in presenting Mozart's "Masonic" fairy tale opera sometime during the holiday season. Works of operatic fantasy like this fit in so well with all the other entertainments that create the happy childhood memories of Christmastime.

Monday December 03, 2012
Tuesday December 04, 2012
Start: 12/04/2012 09:00
End: 12/04/2012 12:00

 

Start: 12/04/2012 12:00
End: 12/04/2012 12:30

 

This week on New World Notes: radio program #248, December 4, from 12:00 to 12:30 p.m., host Kenneth Dowst excerpts a talk by Mickey Huff, Director of Project Censored.

Wednesday December 05, 2012
Thursday December 06, 2012
Friday December 07, 2012
Saturday December 08, 2012
Sunday December 09, 2012